## **Child Support Payment Options**

#### **California Child Support Services**

#### www.childsupport.ca.gov

#### How are child support amounts determined?

Child support amounts are based on the parents' monthly income and the amount of time the child spends with each parent, as well as other factors. The child support commissioner or family law judge sets the amount of a child support order based on state guidelines.

### All income is taken into consideration and can include:

- Wages from a job
- Tip income
- Commissions
- Bonuses
- Independent contractor income
- Unemployment benefits
- Disability and workers' compensation payments
- Department of Veteran Affairs disability payments
- Interest income
- Dividend income
- Rental income
- Social Security or pensions
- Any payments that become due such as lottery winnings and insurance payouts

### My situation has changed, can I get my child support changed?

If your income, medical insurance, custody arrangement or other situation has changed, child support orders can be changed as well. This is called a "modification" and must be filed with the court.

You should contact the child support agency handling your case and request a review and adjustment. You may also go to court on your own, with a private attorney, or the Family Law Facilitator's office in your county.

### **Payment Options**

#### VISA, MasterCard, Discover Phone 866.901.3212

1.9% fee for credit/debit Allow 2-3 business days for processing.

## In-office kiosk 2.7% fee for credit/debit

Many child support offices and some courthouses have a payment kiosk, which accepts cash, credit and debit cards, and e-checks. You will need:

• Your state ID or driver's license,

• OR your Social Security Number (SSN),

• OR your Participant ID, which can be found at www.cse.ca.gov/CustomerConnect/login

Allow 3-4 business days for processing.

### Online at www.casdu.com

1.9% fee for credit/debit Payment requires:

• Participant ID and SSN,

• OR Participant ID, Date of Birth, and Name Allow 2-3 business days for processing.

PayPal \$3.95 minimum or 2.49% www.childsupportbillpay.com/california

You will need:

• Participant ID number SSN is optional

PayPal account

No more than 3 business days for processing.

Cash • In-office kiosk (see left) No fee for cash

### MoneyGram \$1.99 Cash only

*Locations:* ACE Cash Express, CVS, Raley's, Walmart, and other retail locations • You will need your Participant ID number

• Use Receive Code 14630

Allow 3-4 business days for processing.

# PayNearMe \$1.99 Cash only

Locations:

ACE Cash Express, CVS, 7-ELEVEN, and Family Dollar

- Some locations are open 24/7
- Get a barcode at www.PayNearMe.com/California

Allow 3-4 business days for processing.

Bank Account Direct Debit <u>www.expertpay.com</u> Free after \$2.50 registration fee Payments that directly debit your bank account must be processed through ExpertPay, a funds verification. Allow up to 10 business days for processing.

#### **Check or Money Order**

Send a check or money order to: California State Disbursement Unit P.O. Box 989067 West Sacramento, CA 95798-9067 Allow 3-4 business days for processing.

# *If you do not have a Social Security Number, your Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) can be used in place for payment processing.*

### Child support payments through income withholding

Most court-ordered child support payments are made through income withholding – when an employer deducts child support payments from an employee's paycheck. If your payment is not made by income withholding, other payment options are available. The parent paying support can set up recurring automatic withdrawals from a checking or savings account through ExpertPay.

### What happens if I don't make all my payments on time or in full?

All of the actions below can occur if you don't pay on time and in full:

- 10% interest per year will be charged on your unpaid balance
- Other income may be intercepted, including, but not limited to:
  - State or federal income tax refunds
  - o Unemployment benefits
  - Workers' compensation benefits
  - State disability benefits
  - Lottery winnings
  - Insurance settlements
- Your driver's license and/or professional license may be suspended
- Liens may be placed on your property and bank accounts
- Your passport may be denied
- The unpaid balance may be reported to credit bureaus
- Other legal enforcement actions can be taken

# Remember to pay before the 17th of each month to ensure that payment is applied to the intended month.

### California Child Support Services

www.childsupport.ca.gov

866.901.3212

TTY | 866.399.4096

#### **Customer Connect**

www.cse.ca.gov/CustomerConnect/login See your child support information 24/7!

Gavin Newsom

Governor

State of California

Mark Ghaly

Secretary

California Health and Human Services Agency

David Kilgore

Director

California Child Support Services

PUB 303