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What happens if you don’t pay your court-ordered child support? 
All of the actions below can occur if you don’t pay your court-ordered child support on-
time and in-full: 

• 10% interest per year may be charged on your unpaid balance 

• Other income may be intercepted such as, but not limited to: 
o State or federal income tax refunds 
o Unemployment benefits 
o Workers’ compensation benefits 
o State disability benefits 
o Lottery winnings 

• Your driver license and/or professional license may be suspended 

• Liens may be placed on property and bank accounts 

• Your passport may be denied 

• Unpaid balance may be reported to credit bureaus 

• Other legal enforcement actions can be taken 
 
Child support orders 
If you already have a court order for child support, simply provide it to your local child 
support agency to receive enforcement assistance. Orders are not automatically 
enforced, you must contact your local child support agency and apply for services. As 
part of a child support order, an Income Withholding Order will be served on the paying 
parent’s employer. California Child Support Services can help locate employment 
information of the paying parent. 
 
 
 
License suspension 
If your child support payment is overdue by more than 30 days, a notification is 
automatically sent to several California licensing agencies, including the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV), and your driver’s, professional, and/or recreational (fishing, 
hunting, etc.) licenses may be suspended.  
If you receive a notification from the DMV or any of the California licensing agencies, 
you should immediately contact the child support agency handling your case. We can 
help you avoid this action or help get your license released. 
  
How do I get my license back? 
If your license has been suspended for non-payment of child support, contact the child 
support agency handling your case and be prepared to make a payment on the amount 
overdue. You may also file a motion with the court to ask for a license release.  
 

http://www.childsupport.ca.gov/


 We can assist you with releasing your license if you: 

• Provide payment information to bring your account current, or 

• Make payment arrangements with a child support representative 
 
 
Once your child support agency submits a license release, it may take up to 10 
business days for the license to be released by the issuing agency if the only reason for 
the suspension is non-payment of child support. The faster you contact us, the faster 
this gets fixed. 
 
Passport denial 
If your unpaid child support balance reaches $2,500, the U.S. State Department will not 
issue you a passport or renew your old one until your balance is paid in full. If you are 
notified that your passport application is denied, please contact your child support 
agency immediately.   
 
Bank levies, tax intercepts, and other financial actions 
Federal and state law allow for other enforcement actions including intercepting tax 
refunds, seizing bank assets, and placing liens on homes or other property when child 
support is unpaid.  
 
Credit reporting 
Getting behind on your child support payments can affect your credit rating. Every 
payment and/or failure to pay is reported to the major credit reporting agencies. 
 
Property liens 
A lien will be filed in any county a paying parent may have interest in real property when 
a child support case is opened. 
 
Loss of unemployment/disability insurance benefits 
If your only source of income is unemployment or disability, your benefits may be 
intercepted to pay your child support obligation.  
 
If your child support order was based on employment income and you are now 
unemployed or disabled, call the child support agency handling your case and ask 
about a modification of your support order. 
 
 
Help with past-due payments 
There is a program to help parents pay off certain types of past-due child support debt: 
 

• The Compromise of Arrears Program (COAP) is for parents who owe the 
government money because welfare benefits were paid for a child living with a 
relative, legal guardian, or while in foster care.  



• COAP may allow a parent who owes the government $501 or more to reduce the 
total amount owed by making payments. Contact your child support agency for 
more information. 

 
What is the Child Support Warning Notice? 
This is a notice sent annually to all parents ordered to pay child support that have a 
balance of overdue child support (called “arrears”). In the notice, you will find 
information about how much you owe and some of the options available for paying this 
debt. Your child support agency can help you with questions about this notice. 
 
Staying on top of your child support case information is easy now with Customer 
Connect! Log on to the self-service portal at: https://www.cse.ca.gov/CustomerConnect 
 
For more information on child support visit: www.childsupport.ca.gov 
 
Contact California Child Support  
866.901.3212 – Toll-free (within the U.S.) 
TTY – 866.399.4096 
 
Customer Connect 
See your case information 24/7! 
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