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Legal Parentage is Easy to Establish Without Going to Court – and It’s Free! 

 

Program Profile 

The California Parentage Opportunity Program (POP) was established in 1995 to create a simple 
system for an unmarried mother and genetic father to establish parentage. 
Effective January 1, 2020, The Uniform Parentage Act allows more people to utilize the Parentage 

Opportunity Program, reflecting the diversity of California families. 

 

What is POP? 

POP is a voluntary program for a birth parent and other parent to establish legal parentage free 

of charge. This significantly decreases the time and money required to establish parentage 

through the court process. In most cases, a signed and filed Voluntary Declaration of Parentage 

(VDOP) has the same force and effect as a judgment for parentage issued by a court.  

 

What is Parentage? 

Parentage is the recognition of a parent’s legal relationship to a child.  
 
In California a “marital presumption” applies: 
In most cases, a child born into a marriage, or spouses who lived together at the time of 
conception and birth, is legally a child of the marriage. Please see California Family Code §7540 
and §7611(a) for more information.  
 
There are two other ways to establish legal parentage:  
1. By filing a VDOP 
2. Through the California court system 

 

Get the Voluntary Declaration of Parentage witnessed at: 

• Hospitals (at the time of birth) 
• Local child support agency – Find yours at: www.childsupport.ca.gov  

• Local registrar of births and deaths 

• Courts (Family Law Facilitator)  

• Find yours at: www.childsupport.ca.gov 

• County welfare office 

• Notary public 

 



Completing a Voluntary Declaration of Parentage 

A VDOP may be completed only after the child’s birth. 
 
A VDOP must be completed and signed by both parents with their signatures properly witnessed and 
successfully filed with POP before legal parentage is established. A VDOP signed outside of California 
must be witnessed by a Notary Public. 
 
The original double sided VDOP must be submitted to POP – no attachments except for a notary 

certification will be accepted. 

 

Right to cancel the Voluntary Declaration of Parentage 

Each parent has the right to cancel (rescind) the Voluntary Declaration of Parentage (VDOP). If either 
parent decides to rescind the VDOP, they will need to file the form DCSS 0915 Declaration of Parentage 
Rescission with the POP within 60 calendar days from the latest date the VDOP was signed. 
 

If either parent was under the age of 18 years when the VDOP was signed, the minor has 60 calendar 

days after they reach age 18 or become emancipated, whichever occurs first, to rescind. 

After a court order for custody, visitation, or support or the 60-day rescission window has passed, either 
parent must go through the court’s Set Aside process to cancel a filed VDOP. 
 

Each parent has a two-year period to challenge the filed VDOP. The challenge is permitted only under 

limited circumstances and is barred two years after the date the VDOP is filed. 

 

Who is Eligible to Complete a Voluntary Declaration of Parentage 

• An unmarried birth parent and the only possible genetic father 
or 
 

• Two people, married or unmarried, who had this child through assisted reproduction using a 
sperm and/or egg donation, except if the donation was from their spouse 

 
 
Who is Not Eligible to Complete a Voluntary Declaration of Parentage 

• Parents using surrogacy  

• Parents uncertain if conception was natural or assisted  

• Parents with a court order establishing parentage for the child 

• Parents with a valid VDOP on file for the child  

• Parents whose child has another possible parent 
 

 



Where to mail the Voluntary Declaration of Parentage 

Mail the original, signed and witnessed VDOP to:  
 
Parentage Opportunity Program 

P.O. Box 419070 – MS 241 

Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9070 

 

Photocopies will not be accepted. 

 

Benefits of Establishing Parentage 

Establishing parentage may give your child the right to: 

• Social security benefits 

• Military benefits 

• Inheritance rights 

• Health insurance 

• Survivor’s benefits 
 

Genetic Testing  

If you would like genetic testing, request it before signing the VDOP. Genetic testing may not be 

requested by the parents who signed the VDOP once it has been filed. 

Birth Certificate 

A birth certificate does not legally establish parentage.  
 
Filing a VDOP will not change the name on a birth certificate. 
 
For information to change the name listed on a birth certificate, contact the California 
Department of Public Health, Office of Vital Records at 916. 445.2684 or by email at 
VRmail@cdph.ca.gov. 
 
For more information on POP 
www.childsupport.ca.gov 
Under “Services We Offer” 
 

Contact POP 
askpop@dcss.ca.gov 
Phone | 916.464.1982 
Fax | 916.464.5898 
 

mailto:VRmail@cdph.ca.gov
http://www.childsupport.ca.gov/
mailto:askpop@dcss.ca.gov


Hours of Service 
Monday-Friday | 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. 
Saturday -Sunday | Closed 
 

Contact your local child support agency 
866.901.3212 
Toll-free (within the U.S.) 
TTY | 866.399.4096 
 

 

 

 


